Close this search box.

The Pritzker 2016

Photo by Cristobal Palma
Photo by Cristobal Palma

The Pritzker Prize is the Nobel for architecture, awarded every year + $100,000 to the most deserving, talented, consistent, committed and visionary living architect. Past winners include Rem Koolhaas, Zaha Hadid, Jean Novel, Peter Zumthor, Renzo Piano, Jorn Utzon & our very own Glenn Murcutt. Murcutt also became a member of the judging panel. The 2016 prize has been awarded to Chilean architect Alejandro Aravena. I must admit that I had never heard of Aravena before today so I was surprised by the news. Looking at the press kit, his firm Elemental do serious big work along with some beautiful social housing. I’ve also just noticed he was selected as the curator for the upcoming Venice Architecture Biennale so I look forward to learning more about him over the coming year.